347/1997 Sb.

CONSTITUTIONAL ACT

of 3 December 1997

on the Creation of Higher Territorial Self-Governing Units and on Amendments to Constitutional Act of the Czech National Council, No. 1/1993 Sb., the Constitution of the Czech Republic

as amended by Constitutional Act No. 176/2001 Sb.

Parliament has enacted this Constitutional Act of the Czech Republic:

FIRST PART

ARTICLE 1

The following higher territorial self-governing units shall be created in the Czech Republic:

- 1. **Hlavní město Praha** (Capitol City of Prague) in the territory of the capitol city of Prague;
- 2. **Středočeský kraj** [Středočeský (Central Bohemian) Region] with its seat in Prague, in the territory of districts of Benešov, Beroun, Kladno, Kolín, Kutná Hora, Mělník, Mladá Boleslav, Nymburk, Praha-východ, Praha-západ, Příbram and Rakovník;
- 3. **Jihočeský kraj** [Jihočeský (South Bohemian) Region] with its seat in České Budějovice (Budweis), in the territory of districts of České Budějovice, Český Krumlov, Jindřichův Hradec, Písek, Prachatice, Strakonice and Tábor;
- 4. **Plzeňský kraj** (Pilsen Region) with its seat in Plzeň (Pilsen), in the territory of districts of Domažlice, Klatovy, Plzeň-město, Plzeň-jih, Plzeň-sever, Rokycany and Tachov;
- 5. **Karlovarský kraj** (Carlsbad Region) with its seat in Karlovy Vary (Carlsbad), in the territory of districts of Cheb, Karlovy Vary and Sokolov;
- 6. Ústecký kraj (Region Ústí) with its seat in Ústí nad Labem, in the territory of districts of Děčín, Chomutov, Litoměřice, Louny, Most, Teplice and Ústí nad Labem;
- 7. **Liberecký kraj** (Liberec Region) with its seat in Liberec, in the territory of districts of Česká Lípa, Jablonec nad Nisou, Liberec and Semily;
- 8. **Královéhradecký kraj** (Region Hradec Králové) with its seat in Hradec Králové, in the territory of districts of Hradec Králové, Jičín, Náchod, Rychnov nad Kněžnou and Trutnov;

- 9. **Pardubický kraj** (Pardubice Region) with its seat in Pardubice, in the territory of districts of Chrudim, Pardubice, Svitavy and Ústí nad Orlicí;
- 10. **Vysočina** [Vysočina (Highlands) Region] with its seat in Jihlava, in the territory of districts of Havlíčkův Brod, Jihlava, Pelhřimov, Třebíč and Žďár nad Sázavou;
- 11. **Jihomoravský kraj** [Jihomoravský (South Moravian) Region] with its seat in Brno, in the territory of districts of Blansko, Brno-město, Brno-venkov, Břeclav, Hodonín, Vyškov and Znojmo;
- 12. **Olomoucký kraj** (Olomouc Region) with its seat in Olomouc, in the territory of districts of Jeseník, Olomouc, Prostějov, Přerov and Šumperk;
- 13. **Moravskoslezský kraj** (Moravian-Silesian Region) with its seat in Ostrava, in the territory of districts of Bruntál, Frýdek-Místek, Karviná, Nový Jičín, Opava and Ostravaměsto;
- 14. **Zlínský kraj** (Zlín Region) with its seat in Zlín, in the territory of districts of Kroměříž, Uherské Hradiště, Vsetín and Zlín.

ARTICLE 2

The borders of the higher territorial self-governing units may be changed only by statute.

ARTICLE 3

- (1) The territory of the Capitol city of Prague is understood to mean its territory as defined on the day this Constitutional Act comes into effect.
- (2) The territories of districts is understood to mean their territories as defined on the day this Constitutional Act comes into effect.

SECOND PART

ARTICLE 4

The Constitutional Act of the Czech National Council, No. 1/1993 Sb., the Constitution of the Czech Republic, is amended as follows:

1. ARTICLE 99 shall read:

"ARTICLE 99

The Czech Republic is subdivided into municipalities, which are the basic territorial self-governing units, and into regions, which are the higher territorial self-governing units.".

2. ARTICLE 103 is repealed.

THIRD PART

ARTICLE 5

This Constitutional Act comes into effect on 1 January 2000.